Andy’s “Moon River and Me,” a great buy

25 Nov

In the last five years I’ve interview Andy Williams several times.

Andy's new book, "Moon River and Me," is a great read.

I’ve loved Andy’s music since I was a little guy. From the Christmas music that used to come from my grandmother’s record player, to his version of the classic “Born Free,” to the recently popular “Music to Watch Girls By,” I’ve always  loved  Andy. It wasn’t until my stretch on  Faboulous 1490-AM KDMO, an adult standards radio station in Carthage, Mo., that I really understood the impact he had on me and American music.

 In more recent years, since I’ve been covering Branson for the Globe, I’ve grown to appreciate Andy’s music and entrepreneurialism even more. His devotion to his Branson theatre, restaurant, and to his fans is impressive. His new memoir “Moon River and Me” tells it all. In it he talks about the good times and the bad ones, too. From his childhood in Iowa to his long-loved variety show on TV and stage show in Vegas, Andy bares it all. From his wife’s legal trouble, to his medicinal use of LSD and the death of his friend Robert Kennedy in 1968, he opens up his life for all to see. Pretty brave, I say. In the past couple of years, I’ve talked with Andy about his Moon River Grill for a food page story for the Globe. I chatted with Mr. Moon River about co-star, Ann Margaret, and, most recently  his new book. Listen to the interviews and check out my previous coverage of the boy from Wall Lake.

One Response to “Andy’s “Moon River and Me,” a great buy”

  1. Dave's Mom December 20, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    Who knew?? How did this happen?!!! My son has always loved Andy?? While I’ve concentrated on Bob Dylan, the Stones, Aerosmith — even AC/DC — Dave’s focused on Andy & “Moon River??”

    I knew I was “challenged” as a mom, but figured my personal music faves would help compensate. As with other things, I find I was WRONG.

    Next I’ll read that his biggest idol was Donny Osmond. Or Marie.
    😉 😉 😉

Leave a Reply

